Performing Arts

We believe that the Performing Arts play an important role in developing a child’s communication skills, self-confidence and imagination. Our specialist teachers for Music, LAMDA and Dance ensure that pupils achieve the highest standards possible in these areas. This is complemented by our outstanding facilities – purpose built music rooms, drama studios and a dance studio. 

All classes have weekly music lessons where pupils take part in singing, playing percussion instruments, composing, listening and appraising music.  There are several choirs across the school including: an Infant Choir, a Junior Choir and a Senior Choir. There is also a flourishing school orchestra. In 2016, the Preparatory School choirs performed in a number of exciting venues, including The O2 Arena in London.

Year 6 pupils perform a spectacular musical show or play in their final year; in 2016 the out-going Year 6 pupils performed 'Honk’, an adaption of the Ugly Duckling.

 

Dance forms a part of the curriculum for Pre-Reception and Reception children and is available to all pupils as a co-curricular activity. Currently, pupils can choose from ballet, tap, jazz, street dance, modern and musical theatre.

There are many performance opportunities for all of these disciplines throughout the year and pupils can take professional examinations and grades. We also enter as many competitions as possible, so that pupils have a purpose to their learning and so that they can experience other young people engaging in the performing arts at a high level.

 

2016-2017 Dance Calendar 

Michaelmas Term - Weekdays

Dates
Dance Term Dates Tuesday 6 September - Friday 9 December
Dance Examinations Monday 5 December - Wednesday 7 December TBC
Parent Consultations Monday 12 December - Thursday 15 December

Lent Term - Weekdays

Dates

Dance Term Dates Tuesday 10 January - Thursday 30 March
Dance Examinations Tuesday 28 March - Wednesday 29 March TBC
Trinity Term - Weekdays Dates
Dance Term Dates Wednesday 19 April - Friday 30 June
Dance Gala Evening (Selected Students) Civic Theatre Friday 23 June
 Dance Examinations Saturday 1 July - Sunday 2 July TBC
Parent Consultations Tuesday 4 July - Thursday 6 July

Michaelmas Term - Saturdays

Dates

Dance Term Dates Saturday 3 September - Saturday 10 December
Mock Tap, Jazz & Modern Examinations Saturday 8 October - Sunday 9 October
Mock Ballet Examinations Sunday 6 November
No Saturday School Saturday 24 September (Open Day, Dance Companies required)
Saturday 9 October - (Year 7 Taster Day - mock examinations)
Saturday 29 October (Half Term)
Saturday 5 November (Half Term)

Lent Term - Saturdays

Dates

Dance Term Dates Saturday 14 January - Saturday 1 April
No Saturday School Saturday 18 February (Half Term)

Trinity Term - Saturdays

Dates

Dance Term Dates Saturday 22 April - Saturday 17 June
Dance Show Rehearsal (New Hall School) Saturday 20 May
Dance Show Rehearsal (Civic Theatre) Saturday 24 June
Dance Show (Civic Theatre) Saturday 24 June (7.00pm) and Sunday 25 June (1.30pm & 5.00pm)
No Saturday School Saturday 29 April (Open Day, Dance Companies required)
Saturday 20 May (Dance Show Rehearsal)
Saturday 3 June (Half Term)
Saturday 24 June (Dance Show Rehearsal)

Competitions

Dates

Basildon & Canvey Island Festival 26 - 30 October (Half Term)
James Hornsby High School, SS15 5NX
Sudbury Dance Festival Dance: 11 - 15 February
Music: 28 February - 5 March
Speech: 9 - 13 March
Epping Forest Dance Festival March TBC
May TBC
Chelmsford Festival Witham Public Hall, CM8 2DY
 
Download Uniform List for September 2016 | PDF